– Paul Farmer, chief executive of Mind
– The Rt. Hon Baroness Hilary Armstrong of Hill Top
– Carolyn Fairbairn, non-executive director at Lloyds Banking Group

The Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales has announced the appointment of three new trustees to its Board of Trustees as it prepares to launch its new strategy in April; Paul Farmer, chief executive of Mind, the Rt. Hon Baroness Hilary Armstrong of Hill Top and Carolyn Fairbairn, non-executive director at Lloyds Banking Group.

The Foundation’s new strategy will invest in charities that support people to break out of disadvantage at critical points in their lives, and promote practical approaches to lasting change. The new trustees bring with them an extensive array of experience that will help the Foundation to deliver its new strategy to become a flexible grant maker; enabling charities to succeed.


Paul Farmer: 
Paul Farmer has been chief executive of Mind since 2006, and was voted most admired charity chief executive at the 2013 Third Sector awards. He is on the Board of Trustees at Acevo and is also Chair of the Disability Charities Consortium and Chair of the NHS England Mental Health Patient Safety Board. In November 2012, Paul received an Honorary Doctorate of Science from the University of East London in recognition for achievements in promoting the understanding and support of mental health.

Paul Farmer, said, “I'm delighted to be joining the board of trustees for the Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales. The Foundation’s new strategy will play a fundamental role in ensuring that people experiencing mental health problems have the support and services they need and I’m very much looking forward to working with colleagues to make a positive difference at this vital time for mental health.”


The Rt. Hon Baroness Hilary Armstrong:
Baroness Armstrong is a previous parliamentary secretary to the Treasury and Government Chief Whip, and only the second women to hold the position. She then went on to become Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Social Exclusion. After leaving Parliament, Baroness Armstrong Chairs Changing Lives, an organisation that provides support to people with complex needs living in the North East.

Baroness Armstrong, said, “I am delighted to take up this position at the Foundation. I have been involved in the voluntary and community sector for much of my life and I am interested in the sustainability of the sector. Funding is always a challenge and I look forward to bringing my knowledge and experience to assist the Foundation in their new forward strategy to invest in the long term success of charities.”


Carolyn Fairbairn:
Carolyn Fairbairn is a non-executive director at Lloyds Banking Group, and is also a trustee of Marie Curie Cancer Care. Previously a partner with McKinsey & Company and a director of the BBC, where her focus was strategy and distribution. Carolyn also was a member of the Prime Minister’s Policy Unit at Downing Street, advising on health and social services

Carolyn Fairbairn, said, “Lloyds Banking Group is committed to supporting the Foundation in championing the role of small and medium charities. With their new forward strategy launching soon, I look forward to being involved in helping charities to create better lives.


Professor Sir Ian Diamond, Chair of the Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales, said, “Hilary, Carolyn and Paul bring with them a wealth of experience and knowledge and we are delighted to welcome them to the Board at a time when the Foundation is launching its new strategy. The Foundation works with charities on the ground to support those facing multiple disadvantage and to create better lives. I look forward to working with our new trustees in accomplishing this.”

Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales receives its funding from Lloyds Banking Group and enables charities to break out of disadvantage by providing a secure and sustainable approach to grant making. To find out more information about the Foundation, visit www.lloydsbankfoundation.org.uk.